Winter Series Race 1

Race 1 – 29th January

NB: Top 10s to be finalised after Video Review. Poor lighting tonight meant some numbers were hard to see. If you believe there are errors please email

More than 100 riders raced across the 3 categories last night in sub zero temperatures and in between snow flurries underlights for Race 1 of the series at Velopark.

2/3 Men
Race Report: Two significant breaks during the race, a break of 2 in the first 20 minutes of the race brought back before a group of 4 went away around the 30 minute mark after the prime. The top 3 would eventually come from this group with Jacob Nicholson the 4th of the party who had been part of the 1st break. Jacob dropped back to the group with around 20 minutes to go leaving a Dulwich double against Josh who struck out early but was overhauled by James Freeman in the last 150metres.

1. James Freeman (Dulwich Paragon)
2. Joshua Butler (Queens Tower)
3. Ben Allen (Dulwich Paragon)

4. Tom Hargreaves (London Dynamo)
5. Jon Pulestin-Jones (Dulwich Paragon)
6. Danny Bellion (Queens Tower)
7. Simon Barnes (London Dynamo)
8. Ross Hallard (Pretorius Bikes)
9. Timothy Harkness (Maison du Velo)
10. Nick Davis (Kingston Wheelers CC)

1. Tom Hargreaves (London Dynamo)
2. Ben Allen (Dulwich Paragon)
3. Arthur Tye (PMR@ToachimHouse)
4ths Men
Race Report: A couple of attacks through the race with nothing sticking. The bunch from the 2/3s backed into the 4ths race leading to a lap neutralised to allow a gap between the groups before they were given 2 laps to go. James Perry took the win with a super strong sprint into the head wind.

1. James Perry (Dulwich Paragon) Confirmed
2. Nathan Parnell (Duwlich Paragon) Confirmed
3. James Buckley (Sorby Hinds) Confirmed
4. Graham Rudd (Redbridge CC) Confirmed
5. Paul Birchell (Folkestone Velo Club) Confirmed
6. Magnus Wills (Dulwich Paragon) Confirmed
7. Andrew Jarratt (Southgate CC) Confirmed
8. Will Morton (Rapha CC) Confirmed
9. Graham Hinds (Dulwich Paragon)
10. Jonathan Croft (Private Member) Confirmed

11-14. Looks like 4 Dulwich Riders together outside the points

*We are still compiling footage from last night to verify the above. There seems to be some issues with the last 2 placings. See video here:

1. Oliver Williams (Dulwich Paragon)
2. David Kettle (Dulwich Paragon)
3. Richard Arthur (Private Member)

2/3/4 Women
Race Report: A race of attrition with the size of the bunch dictating a fairly conservative race with everyone exposed to the wind. Attacking ride from Agata to grab the prime and it would be those top same 3 that came to the line with half a bike between them gapping the remainder in the home straight.

1. Therese Coen (Queens Tower CC)
2. Gabriella Leveridge (Private Member)
3. Agata Woznicka (Private Member)

4. Sophie Edmondson (Private Member)
5. Michelle Forster (London Phoenix CC)
6. Lucy Manning (Dulwich Paragon)
7. Martine Groen (Islington CC)
8. Alice Cutter (Dulwich Paragon)
9. Katie Righton (Dulwich Paragon)
10. Anna Saunders (Wigmore CC)

1. Agata Woznicka (Private Member)
2. Gabriella Leveridge (Private Member)
3. Therese Coen (Queens Tower CC)

Most Aggressive Racer Week 1:

Jacob Nicholson (Team Bottecchia UK)
Jacob was in both breaks and had a dig on the last lap in the chasing bunch as well. He has a reputation for giving the race a go and showed it again tonight.

Blurry Video Finish on the Clubs YouTube Channel:


SERIES LEADERBOARD – Updated 30 January:

Series Points TOTAL
2/3s 2/3s
Tom Hargreaves (London Dynamo) 22
James Freeman (Dulwich Paragon) 20
Ben Allen (Dulwich Paragon) 20
Joshua Butler (Queens Tower) 16
Jon Pulestin-Jones (Dulwich Paragon) 10
Danny Bellion (Queens Tower) 8
Simon Barnes (London Dynamo) 6
Ross Hallard (Pretorius Bikes) 4
Arthur Tye (PMR@ToachimHouse) 3
Timothy Harkness (Maison du Velo) 2
Nick Davis (Kingston Wheelers CC) 2
4ths Men 4ths Men
James Perry (Dulwich Paragon) 20
Nathan Parnell (Dulwich Paragon) 16
James Buckley (Sorby Hinds) 14
Graham Rudd (Redbridge CC) 12
Paul Birchell (Folkestone Velo Club)  10
Oliver Williams (Dulwich Paragon) 10
Magnus Wills (Dulwich Paragon) 8
Andrew Jarratt (Southgate CC) 6
David Kettle (Dulwich Paragon) 6
Will Morton (Rapha CC) 4
Richard Arthur (Private Member) 3
Black/Blue Kit 2
Jonathan Croft (Private Member) 2
2/3/4 Women 2/3/4 Women
Agata Woznicka (Private Member) 24
Therese Coen (Queens Tower CC) 23
Gabriella Leveridge (Private Member) 22
Sophie Edmondson (Private Member) 12
Michelle Forster (London Phoenix CC) 10
Lucy Manning (Dulwich Paragon) 8
Martine Groen (Islington CC) 6
Alice Cutter (Dulwich Paragon) 4
Katie Righton (Dulwich Paragon) 2
Anna Saunders (Wigmore CC) 2
Aggressive Rider Most Aggressive Rider
Week 1 Jacob Nicholson