The Wally Gimber Trophy

The trophy was awarded to the club for presentation at the annual road race by Wally Gimber, a lifelong club member. Wally Gimber was an active Dulwich Paragon member in the 1940s and excelled on the local Herne Hill track. In 1948-9 he was the London centre track, massed start and roller champion and set a national tandem paced half mile record of 48.55 seconds. He emigrated to the US in the 1960s but returned to the UK in 1985 to present the trophy to John Shand at the club’s 50th anniversary dinner. He kept in regular touch with the club until his death in 1993. Past winners of the trophy include Sir Bradley Wiggins; multiple world champion, Olympic gold medalist and Tour de France winner. Tony Gibb has won three times, Simon Cope and Rob Hurd have each won four.

Twitter: @TheWallyGimber
Facebook: The Wally Gimber Trophy

2022 Highlights

2019 Highlights

2018 Highlights

Photos by Alex Hewson

Photos by Dave Hayward

2017 Highlights

2016 Highlights

2015 Highlights

Hall of Fame

2022 Alexandar Richardson Le Col
2021 Chris McNamara Nuun-Sigma Sports-London RT
2020 [no winner] Cancelled due to Covid
2019 Alexandar Richardson Canyon dhb P/B Bloor Homes
2018 Thomas Moses JLT Condor
2017 Edward Clemens Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
2016 Lloyd Chapman Pedal Heaven
2015 Karol Domagalski Team Raleigh
2014 Jason White Private
2013 George Harper Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves
2012 Matt Jones Team Corley Cycles
2011 Steve Lampier Sigma Sport
2010 Marcel Six Orbea – For Goodness Shakes
2009 Rob Hurd DHC Columbus
2008 Simon Gaywood Plowman Craven RT
2007 Tony Gibb Plowman Craven RT
2006 Tony Gibb Plowman Craven RT
2005 Rob Hurd Private
2004 Tony Gibb PCA RT
2003 Gary Baker Angliasport
2002 Rob Hurd Team Peloton
2001 Bradley Wiggins Team Sports & Publicity
2000 Andy Lyons BCF Private Member
1999 Simon Cope Heron RT
1998 M Anand Canada
1997 Simon Cope Team Defeet
1996 Gary Baker Olympia Sport
1995 Gary Baker Olympia Sport
1994 Rob Hurd CS Purbeck
1993 Simon Cope PCA
1992 Steve Cook Calleva CRC
1991 Simon Cope PCA
1990 Paul Panton Team Haverhill
1989 Barrie Clarke Wembley RC
1988 Russell Fenton Gemini BC
1987 Bruce Drew 34 th Nomads
1986 Steve Cook Calleva CRC
1985 John Shand VC D’OR
1984 Gary Owen Chequers RC
1983 Brian Phillips Manchester Wheelers
1982 John Withey Addiscombe CC
1981 Dave Carter Phoenix CRC
1980 Bob Arnold Ross Wheelers
1979 Paul Dennis Gemini BC
1978 Ron Keeble 34th Nomads
1977 Tony James De Laune CC
1976 Dave LeGrys 34 th Nomads
1975 Dave Peachey 34 th Nomads
1974 Dave Pittman Lewisham RC
1973 Dave Carter 34 th Nomads
1972 Greg Garland VC Anglia Sport
1971 John Sargeant Vulcan CRC
1970 Robin Buchan Norwood Paragon CC
1969 Robin Buchan Norwood Paragon CC
1968 Gary Smith Ross Wheelers
1967 Paul Jarvis Clarence Wheelers
1966 Brian Kirby Medway Velo
1965 Brian Kirby Medway Velo
1964 Ron Beech Australia
1963 Dave Bonner Old Portlians CC
1962 Dave Bonner Old Portlians CC
1961 Roy Newlove West Kent RC
1960 Brian Dacey De Laune CC